I want to start by quickly shouting out our great Dungeon Masters (DMs). They put a lot of work in and I here nothing but good things about the way they run their games. It’s great that more people are stepping up to DM in the Adventurers League community. This is so great for so many reasons and means more people can play in the league. It also means that some of the DMs who run every session can take a well earned break every now and again and that DMs can learn from one another and support each other.
You guys are great!

Tier 2 Play

After the exciting conclusion of session 3 and the end of the Umbral trilogy players may find themselves at a crossroads. To explain why I have to explain a little more about how Adventurers League (AL) works.

AL is split into tiers of play based on player’s character (PC) level.

  • Tier 1 PC level 1-4
  • Tier 2 PC level 5-9
  • Tier 3 PC level 10-14
  • Tier 4 PC level 15-20

Adventures are written for specific tiers of play as not to be too easy or too hard. Play is also split so that characters don’t find themselves too under or over powered for the group they are playing with, this might leave players feeling like they weren’t contributing or they were carrying their party. It is for this reason that PCs are only allowed to play in adventures designed for their tier of play.

Here however, comes the rub. Up till now all players have been Level 1-4 and have all been playing tier 1 sessions, no problem! But through very optimal play it is now possible for players who played in session 0, 1, 2 and 3 to have reached level 5 and therefore be forced to play in tier 2. Unfortunately however the next three sessions (session 4, 5 and 6) are all tier 1 so it would be against the rules for level 5 characters to play these sessions. Tier 2 sessions don’t start until session 7 (sessions are normally broken into trilogies).

So what do we do? After some discussion with other DMs and careful consideration of the rules we can offer the following as AL legal options:

  1. Use 4 ACP to advance your character from level 4 to level 5. This means that your character is now irreversibly tier 2 and you would be eligible to play session 7 (but not in sessions 4-6).
  2. Choose NOT to advance your level 4 character to level 5 (assuming you can) and continue playing sessions 4, 5 and 6 as a level 4 PC. Playing these sessions would not earn you any more ACP beyond the 4 needed to get to level 5 (so cannot be stored to jump to level 6 for example) but would earn you tier 1 TCPs.
  3. Start a new level 1 PC and play sessions 4, 5 and 6 as normal. Once you get to session 7 you’ll have the choice of which character to advance to level 5.

ACP = Advancement Checkpoints
TCP = Treasure Checkpoints
Both earned in sessions

I see these all as great options depending on what you want to get out of AL. I imagine that you have a number of questions and so I’ll try and preempt some of them below. I’ll also keep this section updated as I get more questions so check back.

If I go to level 5 when can I play session 7?

If enough people choose this option then we’ll start at a group on session 7 straight away! (June 16) This will mean that tables will be running sessions 4, 5 and 6 at the same time as tables running sessions 7, 8 and 9 respectively.

Will I miss anything by not playing sessions 4, 5 and 6?

Well, you’ll miss something in that they are great sessions but you’ll still get a full AL experience with a coherent campaign story even if you choose to skip to session 7.

I’m not level 5 yet but I probably will be so, what happens then?

If you reach level 5 before session 7 (tier 2 play) you’ll be faced with a similar decision. You can join a tier 2 game if one is running but bear in mind you’ll most likely skip over 3 sessions. For example if you reach level 5 after session 4 instead of playing session 6 next you’ll be joining a table playing session 8.
You are also welcome to take one of the other two options.

What can I spend tier 1 TCP on?

Did you know that TCP are also tiered? Well they are. You can use tier 1 TCP to buy tier 1 items. Tier 2 TCP can be used to buy tier 2 and 1 items, tier 3 TCP to buy tier 3, 2 and 1 items and so on.

To check what items are available take a look at the table below and pay closest attention to the column that indicates at which tier items become available.

A good rule to bear in mind is that items belong to the tier that were unlocked in. An item unlocked during tier 1 play is a tier 1 item. To clarify you cannot use TCP of a lower tier to buy items of a higher tier. There is no way to convert TCP into higher tier TCP.

If I start a new character do I have to pay anything extra?

Nope! You’ve paid your sign-up fee and you pay your session costs to earn ACP, you don’t have to pay anything extra to assign them to a different character.

If there are any other questions, please don’t hesitate to ask. The best place to ask is on our RPGs @ d20 Facebook group but check out the CONTACT page for more ways to get in touch.

DCI numbers

Big thank you to those who got DCI numbers (which is most people) it really helps! Make a note on your character sheet and log sheet for quick reference.

Magic Item Unlock

After session 3 the following Magic Item is unlocked. It can be bought by anyone who has completed session 3. The item features on table F of the magic item tables in the Dungeon Masters Guide so it costs 16 tier 1 TCP.

See you soon on June 16 for session 4 (or 7!) please respond to the poll on the RPG @ d20 Facebook group if you have reached level 5.
Happy adventuring!

Sign up to 'Rolling News' - the monthly d20 newsletter!

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news, event information and updates from d20 Board Game Cafe.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Share This